Nakuru Is Gearing Up For City Status

The County Government of Nakuru has entered into a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with the Kenya Green Building Society (KGBS) to transform the construction industry towards environmentally sustainable buildings.

The Building Efficiency Accelerator Partnership Agreement will promote and improve the awareness of green building’s designs, practices, programs, technologies and operations.

It will also develop a standard which is recognized as a quality management system for design, building and construction and to develop and publish a code of conduct and a standard measurement.

The move will also raise professional and ethical standards by publicizing environmentally responsible practices within the building industry and the wider community.

The project will support and encourage teaching programs aimed at raising the knowledge and awareness of green buildings.As a County we have done a lot of work in terms of greening as Nakuru prepares for city status.The MOU with the Kenya Green Building Society will supplement our efforts.

CECM Eng. Festus Ng’eno ,Water, Environment, Energy and Natural Resources

The CECM made the remarks when officials of the Kenya Green Building Society led by Chairperson Ms. Elizabeth Chege paid him a courtesy call.

Chege said Kwa Zulu Natal and Tshwane regions in South Africa are an iconic case study for Africa on the success of the program.

The Society will tap into the global green building societies network and hence promote inter trade relationship and enhance green building business partnerships.

KGBS will share information with the County Government about design professionals with skills and expertise to promote sustainable construction and design strategies.

The organization will also assist in training, conferences and workshops by providing Nakuru County with skilled, trained and experienced personnel on green buildings.

The meeting was also attended by Trade and Tourism CECM Mr. Raymond Komen and Chief Officers Dr. Solomon Sirma(Medical Services), Judy Leah Waihenya (Lands and Physical Planning), Mureithi Kiogora(Environment) and the Director of Water Eng. Johnson Kamau.